12 November 2008 - Kofi Annan, President

Kofi Annan Receives 2008 Freedom Award

12 November 2008 - Global Humanitarian Forum President, Kofi Annan, was awarded the International Rescue Committee's Freedom Award for individual efforts to promote greater freedom from harm.

From left to right: International Rescue Committee (IRC) President, George Rupp, with Jonathan Wiesner, Co-Chair, IRC Board of Directors, Kofi Annan, and Alan Batkin, Co-Chair IRC Board of Directors
Past winners of the presitgious prize have included Winston Churchil (1958), George Soros (1993), Burmese politician and activist Daw Aung San Suu Kyi (1995), 2008 Republican US Presidential candidate and Senator John McCain (2001), and Bill Clinton (2005).

Founded in 1933, the International Rescue Committee is a global leader in emergency relief, rehabilitation, protection of human rights, post-conflict development, resettlement services and advocacy for those uprooted or affected by violent conflict and oppression.



Media contact:

+41 (0) 22 919 75 00